It is not recommended but you are more than welcome to try it out!
No. You may pretend that you do not have a legal card to play. However, doing so will make you draw a card as a penalty for not making a legal play on your turn.
Those symbols represent the card suit. There are three different suits in the game. The white/pink star is LIGHT, the lizard bones is DARK, and the orange one is TERRA.
The icon is a quick representation of how good the card abilities are as a whole. There are 5 different types that are ranked in this order from “not-so-good” cards to “legendary” cards: [Yellow wheat, Purple snake, Blue ruby, Red star, Gold crest].
No. You choose which ability to use on the card depending on the number of cards you put down.
Some cards have certain conditions that need to be met in order to trigger the respected ability. If a card that you played read: “[King/Yes] Clap your hands. [King/No] Clap your feet.” you must first determine if there is a King in play. If there is, you would clap your hands, because the sentence immediately after the condition statement would trigger. If there was no King in play, you would clap your feet.
No. Only if they are targeting you directly can a Knight card be used.
There should be a separate pile called the Graveyard located near the deck where all the exiled cards can go.
When specifying a card, the player may be as detailed and specific as they wish. For example, the player may say either: “A Light Farmer card, or A Farmer card, or A Light card and even A Kingship Card”.
Yes! Laws in the original game of Kingship can get out of hand, and some players might find this frustrating instead of entertaining. If you, or the people you are playing with would prefer to play Kingship in a more concrete and purely strategic way, consider using the Kingship Pro law rules. You can find them in the official Kingship Rulebook.
It’s your choice, unless the player was more specific and said “Queen of Light” instead of just “Queen”.
When a single Demon card is legally played, the player must take a card at random from the Demon’s hands. The best approach to this is to have the Demon shuffle their hand and fan out their cards showing only the backs of them. The player would then choose one of the cards at random.
There may only be one transaction made and it must involve the player who played the Merchant card.
Only until your 3rd phase. (After all abilities resolve)
Yes. Even if you are not currently Silenced you may still target yourself.
A law can be made that enables multiple players to become Silenced at once. If such a law was introduced, players would receive some sort of physical item to signify that they are in fact silenced. The original Silenced title card may still be used to represent a player being Silenced.
If the player who passed the law for multiple targets to become silenced did not specify, you would generally just add the chosen player to the pool of currently Silenced players. This is because the “silencing multiple players law” overrides the rule where only one person may be Silenced at a time.
Nothing. It’s as if the ability never triggered in the first place.
Players would each draw two cards starting with the player whose turn would be immediately after the player who played the Knights.
No. It must only follow suit if the card was played normally as either a single or pair of two or more.
All laws will be removed. No laws can prevent themselves from being removed.
Only if the holder of the Dark Queen permits them to or there is no Dark Queen in play to oppose them.
Whenever a player targets another player including themselves, before the ability resolves, you may choose a different target.
Whenever a player is about to obtain a card, you may redirect which player obtains it.
Whenever a player is about to acquire a title, you may redirect which player obtains it.
Whenever a player losses a title, you may redirect it for a player to obtain instead.
There are no rules.
Not technically. If a new player acquires the King title, or multiple Queen cards are played, all the currently active laws will be removed, regardless if the law specified it was unable to be removed.
There is no limit as to how long you can make a law, as long as you don’t use the word “and” or any other similar word to create more than one entirely different law at a time. You are only permitted to use words like “and” to enhance and articulate your law.
No, but it is recommended, in case the wording of the law comes into question. Some players will require you to write down the laws so there is no misunderstanding. If they request that the King does so when they make new laws, the King must comply.
Nothing, the ability stops triggering and never resolves.
Yes, except Kingship Pro laws. (Which is a game variant of Kingship)
The player would obtain all of them.
Yes. Once the player has chosen their desired cards from the graveyard, normal play resumes.
Of course, however, doing so will override the current rules that specify only one player may possess the Silenced title at a time.
No. Only the top card of the pile is a wild suit during your turn.
Yes! Just remember that enabling multiple players to acquire the same title will override the current rules that specify only one player may possess a particular title at a time. Meaning, if there are two Light Queens in play, and another player plays a Light Queen card, if they do not already possess a Light Queen title, they also become a Queen of Light. Since there are multiple Light Queens, playing a Light Queen card will just add another Light Queen to the game.
In this situation, the player who had the Light Queen title before the multiple Light Queen law was made, would retain sole ownership of the original Light Queen title. If no player possessed the Light Queen title when the law was introduced, no player would retain or obtain it once all the currently active laws were removed.
It is not unusual to run into complications during a regular game of Kingship. Since any law can be made, this opens the doors to incredibly fun games and endless possibilities, but also many complications. In the event that a problem arises with either a new law that was introduced, or with anything related to the Kingship cards and title abilities, it is advised that all players agree on how to resolve whatever issue they may encounter. If you find that the boundless law system isn’t working for you or your friends, consider using the Kingship Pro rules which can be found in the official Rulebook. Kingship Pro offers players predetermined laws to choose from and creates a more balanced and polished playing experience.
Have no fear, you can email all your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org. If your question gets used for this FAQ page, we will credit you with your name! Just make sure to tell us your name of course.